Technical Brava 1.2 16v coolant leak

Currently reading:
Technical Brava 1.2 16v coolant leak

borisbbarnstable

Hi there,

I am new to Fiats, and this Forum, but wonder if anyone can give me any ideas on coolant loss from my Brava.
I bought this car with the head removed, (I know this is asking for trouble!), but the guy didn't know how to get it back together.
I sent the head for pressure testing and skimming and then put it all back together. Everything looked good, ran very well, new water pump, cam belt etc and I thought I had a good buy...but, although I am not seeing water in the oil, or oil in the water, (coolant), and no leaks I can see, I am loosing coolant somewhere.
Is there something specific to Fiats and this engine I should check? I am wondering if even though I paid to get the head pressure tested and skimed, is it possible that the head could have a crack that only 'shows up' when the engine gets hot.
One thing I did notice was the new inlet manifold gasket was like a 'traditional' gasket, whereas I was expecting more of an 'o-ring', rubber type gasket as the coolant inlet to the head runs through the manifold.

Any help/advice greatly received!:confused:

Hi, thanks for the reply,

Yes it is a split type manifold.
With regard to the bleeding, I did this as best I could, noting the two bleed nipples at the rear of the right hand side of the engine, and with heater on etc. (Is there something more involved though?)
Not sure of exactly how much its leaking, but enough that I do believe it to be more than 'settling' down. The expansion tank seems to go down around an 3-4cm over 30 minutes.
Have left it overnight and removed plugs, turned it over, but seen no evidence of coolant in cylinders - no sqirting fountains!
I guess next step is a Forte sealer or similar, unless you have a better idea????

Again, appreciate the help.
Cheers, borisb