General 750L As First Car

Currently reading:
General 750L As First Car

whitestripe

Evening all, I'm a newbie to the forum and as yet I don't own a car, let alone a classic Panda.

However! I am going to start learning to drive after Christmas and am looking at a 750L as my first car-main reasons being that the insurance is cheap (comparatively), they seem simple to work on and a good starter to learn mechanics as I'd be doing maintenance myself and fits the bill of being a 'modern classic' (something interesting and different-unlike the endless Clios and Corsas people my age drive). I do know of one locally that is on SORN and once I've saved enough money, I'll leave a note on the windscreen and cross my fingers, otherwise I'll be keeping my eye on eBay, Gumtree etc.

The main point of this post, other than to introduce myself, is to ask what are the main points to look at when buying and owning a Panda? Obviously they rust, but where are they most likely to go? Are there any common mechanical issues that I should be looking out for?

Thanks for reading and I look forward to you replies.

Look at the rear end of the sills on the inside - from under the car. Most will have repairs in this area - just ahead of the rear wheels.

Inner sill to floor pan, rear end of the sill, overheating, head gasket etc

Hi, welcome to the forum!

If it's on SORN it may be a test failure - you could be cheeky - put note on windscreen now - explain your plight - you just might get to know if and what it failed on..? (y)

Hey, the note on screen worked for me, well, in reverse - this is what I found on my windscreen:
'Hi my name is ****, my sister has got one just like this and it's got to go to the scrapyard. Her no. is ***' - that got me on the phone pretty damn quick! :rolleyes:

Welding does present a challenge, but most else is pretty doable and you'll get lots of free advice here!

As people have said, sills are a main point, good to check boot floor for rust too.