General Yet another cambelt question!

Currently reading:
General Yet another cambelt question!

windrush

Hi guys. Sorry to bring cambelts up again but I am after some advice! A pal has asked if I could replace the cambelt and waterpump on his 1998 1.6 Brava Automatic, it has done 60,000 miles and he has owned it for 3 years.
The question is, reading through the searches it would appear that tools are needed, ie cam locking etc, is this definately the case as I can't justify the outlay on something that I am unlikely to use again. I used to be a mechanic and have replaced many belts, including Punto diesel and petrol, but if tools ARE required then I would sooner that he took it to our local garage (non Fiat so they wont have the tools either ;)) than me Tippex things and then have problems! I also gather that the crank pulley nut can be a "pig" to undo (is it right hand or left?). Any advice welcome as I would rather be safe than sorry at his expense.
Thank's in advance

Pete.

Hi guys. Sorry to bring cambelts up again but I am after some advice! A pal has asked if I could replace the cambelt and waterpump on his 1998 1.6 Brava Automatic, it has done 60,000 miles and he has owned it for 3 years.
The question is, reading through the searches it would appear that tools are needed, ie cam locking etc, is this definately the case as I can't justify the outlay on something that I am unlikely to use again. I used to be a mechanic and have replaced many belts, including Punto diesel and petrol, but if tools ARE required then I would sooner that he took it to our local garage (non Fiat so they wont have the tools either ;)) than me Tippex things and then have problems! I also gather that the crank pulley nut can be a "pig" to undo (is it right hand or left?). Any advice welcome as I would rather be safe than sorry at his expense.
Thank's in advance

Pete.