TomTom Mobile cannot connect

Currently reading:
TomTom Mobile cannot connect

psychofox

Legend
Joined
Feb 2, 2006
Messages
1,458
Location
North London
Hi guys,
Got an issue here. My tomTom Navigator wont connect to a valid gps signal.
I have changed nothing on my phone (N73), all of a sudden, no connection. It will connect to my GPS unit (Holox ST-321) but not to the GPS signal!!

Any ideas on how to fix this? I have left it for about 30min, it used to connect straight away...
 
Last edited:

mattbrfc

New member
Joined
Jul 8, 2007
Messages
33
Hiya is it swithced on? haha sorry no, try driving to an open space and see if it connects then, mine wont connect outside my house but drive to bottom of street and it works perfectly.
 
Joined
Oct 21, 2005
Messages
3,035
Hi guys,
Got an issue here. My tomTom Navigator wont connect to a valid gps signal.
I have changed nothing on my phone (N73), all of a sudden, no connection. It will connect to my GPS unit (Holox ST-321) but not to the GPS signal!!

Any ideas on how to fix this? I have left it for about 30min, it used to connect straight away...

Sounds like a problem with the reciever, not the phone, with all sat navs you have to be stationary to recieve a signal.
 
Joined
Oct 21, 2005
Messages
3,035
all except every single one i've ever used :)

as far as i know if your moving at any speed BEFORE you get a signal it takes considerably longer to find a satellite because satellites only send out a signal every 5-20 seconds so by the time it has triangulated it's signal you have moved 500 yards so it has to repeat the process
 
Joined
Mar 29, 2005
Messages
5,034
Location
NW London
If a satellite only sends out a signal every 5 - 20 seconds then how does a GPS device measure speed accurately? or tell you where you are accurately?
 

basilbrush

New member
Joined
May 22, 2007
Messages
18
Hi I had the same problem with my Tom Tom One XL, I had to get a paper clip and press the reset button on the bottom of the unit. It is a very small hole with the words reset, after keeping it pressed for about 5 seconds it connected no problem.
 
Top