Technical Tempra 1.9TD cold starting problem

Currently reading:
Technical Tempra 1.9TD cold starting problem

BKR0411

Hello to everyone. I'm a bit of a newbie, so apologies if this is a really obvious problem. I've had a look through the other threads but couldn't find an exact match.

I've just bought a Tempra 1.9TD SW and it had recently developed an aversion to starting from cold. On turning the ignition key all the relevant lights come on, including the glow plug light, but when this goes out and I try to start the engine all I get is a loud click.

It has only developed over the past week and initially would happen once or twice before starting normally, but last night it took loads of attempts before the engine would crank. Once it does crank, it starts perfectly. The problem also only appears to happen when the engine is cold. It turns over fine when the engine is warm.

I wondered if it was a problem with the solenoid on the starter motor, but wasn't sure how this would fit with the problem only happening when the car has been standing.

Any help or advice would be gratefully received.

Hello to everyone.... I've just bought a Tempra 1.9TD SW and it had recently developed an aversion to starting from cold. On turning the ignition key all the relevant lights come on, including the glow plug light, but when this goes out and I try to start the engine all I get is a loud click.

Sounds as though it may be a starter problem, but before you go stripping it out it would be as well to check all the wiring from the battery to the starter. The starter solenoid is built into the starter so its not a separate item to check. Also check any earth wiring from the starter to the chassis / battery.
The battery goes directly to the starter (large red wire), there is a smaller wire that goes to the starter, this is the one that pulls the inbuilt solenoid and gets the starter going, (the click).