General Squeaky Cam?

Currently reading:
General Squeaky Cam?

Misty Buff

Hi Folk,

I've just managed to get my Panda back on the road after the headgasket failed last year (though I'm not a mechanic; I just took a photo of everything I did and then put it all back in the reverse order:confused:) Obviously I took the head off, had it skimmed and replaced etc as per trusty Haynes suggested and put all the relevant bits (I think!) back. I've run it for a couple of hundred miles now and as it gets warmer it starts to 'squeak'. I'm sure its not a slipping fan belt even though it sounds like one; I've taken off the rocker cover as I was convinced it was inside and sure enough with the engine running the 'squeak' was louder than ever with the engine running. After running into the garage and returning with the trusty oil can, a quick squirt on to the (followers?) at the nearside end instantly cured the noise. Trouble is after about 10 mins it comes back again. Does this sound like blocked 'oilways' or whatever the channels the oil uses to get up to the top of the engine? The engine is very clean inside with little or no sludge or deposits built up from what I can see (its even silver rather than black inside) I looked in the comic and it reckons to make sure that the oilways are clear and thats all it says.:bang:
How do I do this? Do I need to remove it and clean it out somehow? Does anyone know if those engine flushers which you chuck in for 15 mins might clear them out; this will be my next try tonight although I will have to change the oil & filter again :rolleyes: or does anyone have any better ideas?

are you thats what it is, had the same effect on my cam belt tensioner, shortly before the cam belt went, which went because the tensioner was dragging on the belt hence...

just a thought :)

Hi Folk,