Technical Slow start when cold

Currently reading:
Technical Slow start when cold

The glow plugs are there for those rare occasions when its very , very cold - much colder than UK . My 2007 car glow plugs take at least 5 sec to turn red. Tested on a table. Nobody is waiting that long. My point is that yes glow plugs may help but if everything else is working fine (at least on 1.9jtd) they are unnecessary. Lets face it - most people rush all the time and nobody is waiting for their glow plugs to heat up and cars start srtraight away. I used to work as a mechanic and we would reccomend glow plugs for starting problem and it never helped.

The glow plugs are there for those rare occasions when its very , very cold - much colder than UK . My 2007 car glow plugs take at least 5 sec to turn red. Tested on a table. Nobody is waiting that long. My point is that yes glow plugs may help but if everything else is working fine (at least on 1.9jtd) they are unnecessary. Lets face it - most people rush all the time and nobody is waiting for their glow plugs to heat up and cars start srtraight away. I used to work as a mechanic and we would reccomend glow plugs for starting problem and it never helped.
I suppose it depends what other underlying problems there are.
One of my daughters had a 1.3 multijet 06 Grande Punto 100k+ miles and apart from the summer, if you leapt in and turned the key from cold it wouldn't start without a lot of cranking , but the few seconds on the heater plugs and it would start every time.
However the 2.8 Iveco / Fiat Daily engine I rebuilt never needed heater plugs even in the winter and was in a boat sat in cold sea water all the time. I didn't even connect wiring to them.