Punto ICE

Currently reading:
Punto ICE

jdunderhill

Hi I would really appreciate some help if possible

I have an 880 Watt XS amp already installed and would like to install another, How do I wire a second amp?

I am familiar with running a fused power lead from battery, a ground wire to car chassis, RCA leads and remote wire but my main concern is about the remote wire, can I attach the second remote wire to the other remote wire so it turns both amps on?

Also does running two power leads from the battery pose a problem for voltage or amp draw?

I am considering a powercap as the second amp is a 1000 Watt XS Amp and will be running two subs, is this a good idea? i've no experience of installing one, I've heard a 1 Farad Capacitor is sufficent, I've seen some models on Ebay that I could buy that seem a low price

I have only ever installed a 1 amp car audio setup and just wondered the steps it takes to add additional amps and possibly a power cap

I plan to have the following ICE....

25cm Pioneer Full Range Speakers (Parcel Shelf)
2 x 500 Watt Subs (In Boot)
6" Components (Door Pods)

Thanks in advance

Jamie

A distribution block from the one power lead would solve the cable routing problem.

AFAIK, the Remote switch signal is low current, so yu could probably piggyback off the other amp with no problem.

As for current draw, yu might want to install a 2nd battery or an uprated alternator as 2000W might be 60A+. I know a Cinq Sporting alternator only does 65A, and 5A isnt really sufficient to power an engine imo, so a 2nd batt, might not be a bad idea...

Tom (AofB)

1 x 93' Cinq SX
1 x 95' Cinq Sporting
= Loads a' fun!

If run at 2000watts it is about 160 amps! Ouch!

I don't know much about the use of a capacitor in this way but they are on offer for about £50 at maplin at the moment. The trouble is, you can have a big a capacitor you want but it can't rid of the fact you are lacking power.

Thanks for the replies, how easy is it to install a second battery?