Punto gearbox in panda

Currently reading:
Punto gearbox in panda

Batespeed

Hi folks,
And old fiat fan here
(I mean I'm old and like fiat's)
Over the last 40 plus years I've owned and thrashed, in no particular order, a fiat 127 with the old pushrod 903? Engine, X19 1500, 131 1600 ohv, 131 1600 twin cam, strada 1300 and 1500, and at least two Ducato vans. All, with the exception of the Ducatos had very willing revvy engines, that seemed a lot faster than they really were which made them a lot of fun to drive. There is probably more fiat's that I've forgotten. I was a mechanic in a fiat dealership for a while in the mid 80s.
I've been toying with the idea of getting a panda 1.2 with the euro 5 69 bhp engine, but the extremely high economy gearing is putting me off. That's fine if your on motorways with no hills, but I live in the Highlands of Scotland and am hardly on a dual carriageway never mind a motorway. I was checking out the ratios and final drive on 1.2 grande puntos and was wondering if anyone has ever put a gearbox from one in a panda 1.2. And if so how much of a difference does it make. The punto 1.2 is running 19mph per thousand revs in fith (with standard 175/65r15 tyres) whereas the economy gearing on the panda is something like 23 or 24 mph with 155/80r13s.
Even fourth in the panda is higher than fifth in the punto.
So in theory I could put on 15inch wheels and still be running lower, closer gearing. Or run 13s or 14s to lower the gearing even further if required, for track days etc.
Also does a sport exhaust and intake make any difference to this engine other than making it sound faster.?
Plus the 69 bhp euro 5 is only thirty quid a year to tax which is nice. Thanks guys, I know I should be old enough to know better, but I quite fancy the idea.
And a 1.4 8 valve out of a punto might be a longer term possibility too, who knows. 👍