Technical Fit 500 rear brake light fault! Help!

Currently reading:
Technical Fit 500 rear brake light fault! Help!

Amrik

Hi all, newbie here!!

We require some help with our 2008 Fiat 500 1.2 lounge!

Basically the left hand side brake light doesn’t work at all but the high level and rhs work as normal, I’ve tried the following thus far!

* Replaced the lamps several times with no joy
* Checked and replaced fuses with no joy
* Tailgate wiring repaired with a repair kit (eBay) - no joy!
* I’ve replaced the lamp carrier - still have issues
* I’ve replaced the brake light switch under the dash - still no joy!

Has anyone else experienced this issue?

Could this be a faulty ground cable?

Any help would be appreciated.

Inside the boot check the Green wire with white stripe has a voltage on it(brake pedal pressed) you could cut it or simply push a knife blade into it with a meter connected assuming you know what you're doing, or just the bulb with the other side properly earthed to see if works? Also test if same voltage is on the same pin at the cluster plug, whilst unplugged.
If you get a feed there the fault is either from that point to the cluster or the cluster? Have you tried removing the cluster and testing it or powering it up to see if it performs as expected?
Also try this turn on ignition, don't start, left hand indicator on, lights on, select reverse, does the cluster perform as expected, any other strange lights on, on the other side?

Last edited:
Hi
As john says its the green/white wire that feeds the brake light on that side you are checking to see if you are getting a full 12v feed to the bulb holder! if you can you need to check the feed to the connector for the left side bulb holder unit first ! .