Detailing for beginners - training ?

Currently reading:
Detailing for beginners - training ?

I have always regarded myself as pretty competant in cleaning cars, but, some of these businesses and individuals that detail attain fantastic results. The methods used have long surpassed the basics of wash,leather and wax.

Does anybody offer training for us mere mortals to enable us to learn how to use the machinery and chemicals available.

I don't mean training so we can all set up in business tomorrow but just the basics.

How to mop
How to clay properly
What to use

Any of you pro-detailers want a challenge? Willing to pay for a day's training, even regard me as free labour for a day !!

Hi Matt,

I currently use a pressure washer, foam lance, blade, leather, then finally micro-fibre cloths which I wash after every use.

I am a clay novice at present.

I then use AutoGlym super resin polish and extra gloss. Tyre dress, etc.

I would really like to learn how to go that extra mile properly. Don't get me wrong, I am really pleased with the results, but they pale when you see what some of the guys out there do.... and of course I really enjoy doing it.

Hi Matt,

I currently use a pressure washer, foam lance, blade, leather, then finally micro-fibre cloths which I wash after every use.

I am a clay novice at present.

I then use AutoGlym super resin polish and extra gloss. Tyre dress, etc.

I would really like to learn how to go that extra mile properly. Don't get me wrong, I am really pleased with the results, but they pale when you see what some of the guys out there do.... and of course I really enjoy doing it.

So you want to be shown the basics of how to clean and clay it properly and then shown how to finish it with clay,wax, polish, sealant and a wax? Or do you want to be shown how to use a machine polisher etc?

aaaarrrrgggghhhh noooooo

Id only ditch the blade out of those three :p