Technical Cigarette lighter removal.

Currently reading:
Technical Cigarette lighter removal.

Dleonskie3

I have tried various suggestions to this ,but my problem isthe metal barrel won't come out.How does it detach from the black connector, and how does the black connector detach from the white wiring connector. Mine appears stuck on both counts and I don't want to force it. I'm a newbie and any help would be appreciated.

Look inside the "metal barrel",there will be two square or rectangular Windows opposite each other, inside them is plastic.Ignition off.push the plastic with screw drivers or Allen keys,and pull up metalat same time,leaving plastic in place. Once out,push tail on wire connector in and pull.Then pull/wriggle black/orange outer surround out .

I've bent in the metal tabs on the barrel that would seem to be holding it in.Now moves about half way. Seems to be sticking from the bottom.? Connector? Should the connectors come out through the barrel? Do I need to disconnect before removal,and if so how? It's a very tight fit getting my hand around lower end of unit. Your help is appreciated.

I've bent in the metal tabs on the barrel that would seem to be holding it in.Now moves about half way. Seems to be sticking from the bottom.? Connector? Should the connectors come out through the barrel? Do I need to disconnect before removal,and if so how? It's a very tight fit getting my hand around lower end of unit. Your help is appreciated.

IMG_6827.JPG
This is Metal square,there are two,the other is opposite. It has a plastic lug in each square.The plastic lugs must be pushed outward whilst lifting metal barrel out completely,leaving the plastic ring under the Metal barrel where it is in the hole. Undo wire connector,then remove plastic ring to replace bulb as necessary.