Technical 1970 Fiat 500 F Brakes

Currently reading:
Technical 1970 Fiat 500 F Brakes

I have to say one man bleed kits and me have never got on very well, I just never seem to get them to work properly. You can't beat the tried and tested two person method.

I am getting my petrol pipes and brake pipes mixed up, the plastic pipe goes to the master cylinder not the centre tunnel. :rolleyes: The only step left if you are getting very little pressure is to carry out a thorough check of the copper pipes for possible damage.

Years ago, in a previous life, I was a diesel mechanic. We have a pressure bleeder that was a hand pump on a 20L of brake fluid. We used to work on a lot of the old gear with juice brakes like TK Bedford's, Commer, Dodge etc.

We found the best way of getting air out of some of the more 'characteristic' British brake systems was to put the pressure bleeder on the wheel cylinder nipple and backfeed to the master cylinder. You just have to keep an eye on the master cylinder to make sure you don't overflow the reservoir, but it seemed the most effective way of doing it.

Cheers
Chris

Years ago, in a previous life, I was a diesel mechanic. We have a pressure bleeder that was a hand pump on a 20L of brake fluid. We used to work on a lot of the old gear with juice brakes like TK Bedford's, Commer, Dodge etc.

We found the best way of getting air out of some of the more 'characteristic' British brake systems was to put the pressure bleeder on the wheel cylinder nipple and backfeed to the master cylinder. You just have to keep an eye on the master cylinder to make sure you don't overflow the reservoir, but it seemed the most effective way of doing it.

Cheers

Chris

Hmmmmm. This sounds interesting. Now how do I get it to backfeed?? The one I have gets attached to a compressor.

Sent from my iPhone using FIAT Forum

Last edited: