IE7 - am I the only one who's thoroughly unimpressed?

Currently reading:
IE7 - am I the only one who's thoroughly unimpressed?

JonnyBoy

Fat pigeon... APPLE!
In the last 15 minutes I have installed, tried, and uninstalled Internet Explorer 7 on my laptop. I honestly couldn't see a good reason to keep it... (n)

Enhanced security is all well and good but my firewall, virus scanner and Win Patrol have kept me 100% virus/malware free for years so not reason enough to continue using IE7.

Tabbed browsing: Opera does it so much better; personally I prefer the multiple windows approach anyway, if only because I've been using it for 8 years.

"ClearType": this is the biggest bag of utter and total rubbish I've ever seen. I don't find it any "clearer"; all I see are bigger, clumsier characters and reading the ClearType-ed text makes my eyes struggle to focus.

New layout: why, oh why, must the address bar be fixed at the very top of the window? The "File/Edit/View/etc" buttons have always been at the top before, and what was wrong with that?

There are probably other things too, but the above were enough to convince me that IE7 has no place on any of my computers. At least my other machines run non-legit Windows so IE7 won't install anyway ;)

What other problems have people found with IE7, or are most happy with it and I'm just a Luddite?! :p

ie sucks,

ffwins8dv.gif

mo9bu.gif

J

I dislike the small home/refresh/stop buttons, I am sure you can edit it though? I appreciate the improved favourites button. Tabbed browsing means little to me, don't see the point? The back and forward buttons are silly too, I only upgraded since I feel like I need to keep up :(

Never tried Firefox, suppose I ought to at least try it. Then again I've been saying the same of Linux for ages and still haven't tried that either! :rolleyes:

For now good old IE6 will do, withOpera as a backup for when it throws a hissy fit :)