Technical Odd noise on a 1.6 [coil?]

Currently reading:
Technical Odd noise on a 1.6 [coil?]

wvam

Newbie here.

Stilo 1.6 Dynamic '02.

When the key is first turned to turn on the ignition there is a sound from the top of the engine immediately under the cover where the words FIAT are written. Sounds like something setting up or being moved in to place. What's the noise?

The car was a "gimme" from a relative and came with a "few" problems including some dash lights on. It then blew a head gasket - fixed - and then a coil - fixed but mechanic didn't have tools to clear engine fault light so still on.

The car has just developed another problem. On cold startup it starts and then dies. Did this a couple of times this morning and then once when I came to a stop. The engine is running on all cylinders but tickover is not completely smooth (as was before). Exhaust note on tickover sounds a bit "poppy" if that makes sense - a little like a very quiet Harley Davidson on fast tickover! I also think it's down on power at low revs. Any thoughts?

Thanks in advance for any help.

Chris

Sounds like the timming is out from when you had the head gasket change, are you sure the correct timming tools was used when the head was put back on? the light should clear its self after 3 clear runs so a problem must still remain, if its rough running due to the timming that may bring a light on, i'd say get the timming check which will mean having the timming tools fitted and to make sure the tools are in a good condistion as the timming must be bang on or you will get the problems your describing, there are allot off Stilos having problems like this after a cam belt change or after a job like a head gasket that involes removel of the head, take the car somewhere that knows a stilo engine and has experance on setting the timming up.

Hope this helps and it just might cost you a couple of hours labour.(y)