Technical Newbie with a big project in mind

Currently reading:
Technical Newbie with a big project in mind

Hey all

Long time Fiat owner but new 500 owner. I have just bought a lovely 1970 500. Very old registration and still holding up very well.

The car came with a lot of parts and this is the reason for my posting.

The car comes with a 126 650 engine that i have been able to identify as a late built engine. It also comes with a syncro box, including alternator and starter.

My first question is about the gearbox, specifically the drive shafts for the 650. I have the shorter 420mm shafts that someone has changes on the 650 box but they are 20mm thick, not the 25mm. Is this going to be a problem?

I'm sure i will be asking many questions as it is my first time to do such a build such as this so i thank you all in advance.

Hey all

Long time Fiat owner but new 500 owner. I have just bought a lovely 1970 500. Very old registration and still holding up very well.

The car came with a lot of parts and this is the reason for my posting.

The car comes with a 126 650 engine that i have been able to identify as a late built engine. It also comes with a syncro box, including alternator and starter.

My first question is about the gearbox, specifically the drive shafts for the 650. I have the shorter 420mm shafts that someone has changes on the 650 box but they are 20mm thick, not the 25mm. Is this going to be a problem?

I'm sure i will be asking many questions as it is my first time to do such a build such as this so i thank you all in advance.