Seicento car wont start since replacing snapped fan belt

Currently reading:
Seicento car wont start since replacing snapped fan belt

big jase

Hi all
I am new to this but hope you can help me.
I replaced the fan belt last weekend after the old one snapping and since then the car is really struggling to start.
I have checked everything
plugs
h t leads
battery is fine
fuel fine
anyone got any ideas
any advice would be greatly appreciated
cheers big jase

Did it stop when the belt snapped? Or did you stop gently after the red light came on?

What engine/year is it?
A breaking belt can damage cambelt timing, if its a 1.1 and the broken belt gets caught up.
It could also kill the crank sensor, or its wiring, if one is fitted.

If you stopped quite violently, check the cut-off switch, under centre console I think, see the handbook. This little device cuts the fuel pump in case of collision, but can pop with a violent stop.

Check around belt area, try to picture its route as it flew off, and see if anything, especially wiring, is damaged, both above and below the belt.

Assuming 1108 and assuming you took the alternator pulley off to replace the belt, then it's simple: you replaced the pulley wrongly.

Take it off and hold it to the light and you'll see the big hole in the middle, the three bolt holes, and a hole about 1/16". This little hole is supposed to line up with a tiny pip on the cam belt pulley when re-assembled (the pip may be flattened now, but you can still line it up),

Thing is that if that pip is in the wrong place, the ignition timing, which is set by the alternator pulley (or rather the two missing peaks in the circumference) will be miles out, so the car will never run,

Failing that (or 899) check for fuel past the injector(s) -- (wet, petrol smelling plugs) and spark at plugs when cranked. If neither TDC sensor.

Last edited: