Technical Yes, another oil thread!

Currently reading:
Technical Yes, another oil thread!

There has been (and probably always will be!) an ongoing debate here about the right oils to use, and especially for the TwinAir.

In the dim and distant past, Fiat owned an oil brand, FL (Fiat Lubricants), who sold oils under the Selenia label. More recently, that brand name was bought by Petronas, the Malaysian State oil company famous for its F1 sponsorships, (and, it seems from here, https://www.lubesngreases.com/lubereport/7_40/petronas-acquires-italys-fl-selenia/ the base product in Selenia oil changed). A key thing that is supposed to make a difference (I'm not an oil expert so can't quantify this) is, in addition to being the right viscosity (the 0W30 number), Fiat want an 'ACEA C2' classification (an oil spec for lubricants that are good for engines with catalysts or diesel particle filters), and then, a very specific Fiat spec on top of that. For the Twin Air, that means the oil needs to be marked 0W30, ACEA C2, and Fiat spec 9.55535GS1. And for the MultiJet diesel in Euro 6 guise, same numbers but the last bit ends DS1 (for Diesel, as opposed to the GS for Gasoline).

So, I note with interest (while looking to see where I can by a small amount of oil locally to top up my 4x4 Euro 6 MJ, where the level has dropped for the first time since I've had it): Castrol have now released a version of their Magnetec Oil that is labelled 0W30, C2, and which meets meets both Fiat specs 9.55595GS1 and DS1 in the same oil and can be used on both petrol and diesel cars. Better still, it is (according to Halfords own website) the least expensive Castrol Oil they sell! Does that actually mean it's a 'simpler' oil than the more expensive offerings?

Take a look... https://www.halfords.com/search?q=Castrol 0w&srule=price_increase_rule

Last edited:
I'll try to summarise what I think is the collective wisdom of this forum into one post.