Technical Rear wheel bearings

Currently reading:
Technical Rear wheel bearings

dapedza

Hi folks, I’m new to this fabulous forum which is great resource.
After much drama, I got an overhauled 126 box fitted to my 500. It’s great as it has synchro, which means the whole family can now drive it. Whilst test driving I picked up a slight rumble from the rear right, so thought the wheel bearings needed investigation. Ripped out the old oil seals and knocked out the bearings using a copper drift. I noticed there were two circlips between the oil seals and bearings. I wrongly assumed they were left over from the destroyed oil seals.
Put it all back together with new bearings and seals. It’s sweet now and the slight rumble has gone.
I didn’t use the circlips. I now discover they should be in there. What do they do? Does it matter? Thanks!
IMG_2358.jpeg

I would strip that down again. The circlips locate and secure the bearing assembly within the hub. Without them, I think that it's just the friction-fit that is keeping the sub-axle in position. If the bearings decide to move it will put a strain on the driveshaft and differential.

Even if the more serious consequences don't arise (the worst of which could be quite dangerous), it's likely that the bearings will fail quite quickly as things are at present.

The assembly of the rear wheel bearings has quite specific instructions; did you adjust to get the correct turning-torque of the bearings?

I would strip that down again. The circlips locate and secure the bearing assembly within the hub. Without them, I think that it's just the friction-fit that is keeping the sub-axle in position. If the bearings decide to move it will put a strain on the driveshaft and differential.

Even if the more serious consequences don't arise (the worst of which could be quite dangerous), it's likely that the bearings will fail quite quickly as things are at present.