Technical MK 3 Panda Eleganza rear parking Sensor removal?

Currently reading:
Technical MK 3 Panda Eleganza rear parking Sensor removal?

Gary Seven

Firstly , I'm a Newbie here , so Hello one and all..👍🏼
The Car is a Mk 3 Panda Eleganza.
My reversing sensors give the 3 second tone of doom when reverse gear is selected, so now I will have to remove them in order to individually test them. I've done the usual stunts like spray them with WD40 and listen for a ticking sound that isn't there. So now its time to get things done.
These are mounted in the black plastic trim on the back bumper. My question is this..
How can I remove this trim piece without damaging it (what is keeping it in place now)? I don't really fancy removing the entire bumper assembly unless I have to.
Or maybe there's a much easier way to fix this problem ?
IMG_20231003_162800.jpg

The sensors go through the bumper. Bumper emoval is only as difficult as undoing the screws. You can probably reach the sensors from behind. There is nothing in Haynes manual about the trim. I strongly suspect its a push fit but the sensors will go right through the bumper as well.

Start with the easier things. Have someone sit in the car and engage reverse (someone you trust). Walk past / try to cover each one.
Make sure they're all clean as well - some cars (cough Citroen cough) can have the rain confuse them... clean / no wax or coatings is important.

I haven't dealt with these on a Panda but a DS3. Most likely the exact same technology.

If you can get underneath and look UP with a torch, you might be able to reach into the inside of the bumper and disconnect then remove them, swap them about to check if it's the wiring or an individual sensor.

You might need to take the bumper off if you want to do it 'easily' and not risk breaking or having an awkward time reaching into tight spots blindly and trying to not break anything. Might save you time in the long run.