Technical Intermittent wiper not working.

Currently reading:
Technical Intermittent wiper not working.

Xtina40

I'm new to this so many apologies if I have posted this twice??? I have recently bought a Stilo jtd desire diesel 02 plate and the intermittent wiper will only move once and then nada?? The other speeds work fine. Is this easily fixed?? All info greatfully appreciated. Thank you.

Are you sure your car doesn't have rain sensors because if it does, there is no intermittent speed for the wipers, the positions are:

1- off
2- sensor
3- 1st speed
4- 2nd speed.

Look at windshield from outside of the car, do you see a similar sensor like in the picture attached? If you do, start the car, close the wipers then start them on the 1st position (sensor), pretend you are 3 again, put a finger in your mouth to moisten it then put it on top of the sensor and you will have a surprise. :yum:

Fiat_Stilo_front_20080711.jpg

Last edited:
vladof i have that similar picture on my windscreen, but the stalk looks like in the picture attached, and is intermittent wiper, not sensor.

Attachments

• u_stilo_columnstalks_fm69445.jpg
    u_stilo_columnstalks_fm69445.jpg
    48.7 KB · Views: 78
You don't get rain sensor failure on your dash do you?

I've uploaded a video about this.

Excuse the music. Girlfiend CD :p .

Also, check out the relevant page in the Stilo Handbook.

Rain Sensor Handbook.jpg

Because the rain sensor comes with the light sensor included, you can also check to see if you have the rain sensor by pushing the light switch to the automatic position. If you have no automatic (A on the stalk) light position than you don't have rain sensors either.

Last edited:
I was wrong earlier, no sensor on mine, silly me, srry.

But now i'm curious, i need to change my windshield with a new one: if i put one with rain sensor, can i transform the intermittent wipers to sensor wipers? ( position 2 of the stalk)