Technical High Final Drive

Currently reading:
Technical High Final Drive

Keeffy

Hi All, new on here and have a 71' 500f with a 650 engine.
Interested to know if anyone here has a 126 synchronised gearbox with a 9/39 final drive and how they get on with it?
Is it worth the 9/39 over the 8/39 final drive or is the standard 126 gearbox just a better bet?

Cheers, Keith

I used one with a standard 650. I liked it, but eventually reverted to an unmodified transmission when I tried a 594 engine in the car; the change wasn't earthshatteringly beneficial, but I sounded enthusiastic when I reported back.

Last edited:
Hi, thanks for the replies so far..interesting.
My 650 engine is tuned, ported head and 35/75 cam. Really I'm just looking for more quieter/relaxed cruising to be honest.
Could I convert the standard 500 box with the higher final drive and synchronisation or go for a 126 synchro box or the 126p box - Just not sure which way to as I have little experience with theses transmissions..

Hi Keith, I have a 9/39 Diff in my 126 box having taken a while over the merits of a five speed conversion. In the end I decided to go with a diff gear set from a 126 BIS gearbox. The swap over was simple enough, BUT the setting of the crown wheel backlash and the turning torque setting of the drive shafts took a little time to get right. Providing you are willing to do the job you will see some 60mph at approx 4000rpm, which for me is a steady cruise with a tuned engine.
Ian.

Thanks Ian that's really good info, appreciated.
May I ask where you got your Bis gear set from and did it fit straight into your 500 gearbox? Is there a supplier of Bis parts in the UK?

Keith