General Fiat stilo 52reg JTD starting problems also power issues

Currently reading:
General Fiat stilo 52reg JTD starting problems also power issues

Carrr0509

Hi new to fiats and new too the JTD engines( always had petrols)
Having a few problems with my fiat stilo JTD first one is when starting from cold it really doesn't like starting in the morning's feels like a fuel problem because if I pump pedal few dozen times while cranking its seems to just about come to life but I really notice a large amount of white smoke from the exhaust and engine compartment( maybe N/S) when it fires/ cranking.

Problem 2 is if I accelerate from any speed/ gear whenever I get to 2800(roughly) RPM while accelerating hard I get my red engine light come on but when I take foot off the pedal most of the time it goes out.

As I'm new to fiats and the JTD engines any help would be great

I've seen the same things happen when a friend used some crap fuel in his JTD. Fortunately he didn't put much in so he filled up with Shell V-Power Diesel and took the car out for a good run, wasn't long before the smoke disapeared and the power came back.

You could be right, it may be fuel related, try filling her up with some quality fuel first.

ive recently had some starting problems and a bit of smoke. im giving her a service inculding fuel filter.

Im not sure but i was looking at getting some new glow plugs to, maybe this may help the starting in the mornings.

No smoke while driving its only when starting after cranking for so long get smoke from rear but also from engine compartment

Bump

As this problem is really a pain in the mornings before work.

Check glow plugs/relay if you have white smoke whilst cranking. JTD should start within 1/10 second of engaging starter if all is OK. If it doesn't then you must certainly check out the glow plug control system.