General Cinq Gear/clutch Problem

Currently reading:
General Cinq Gear/clutch Problem

HIGHLANDFIAT

just bought a 2nd hand "p" reg sporting with 66,500 on clock for the wife,when i went to drive it off couldnt get it in gear happened a few times on the way home,once got home wife took it out for a run and couldnt get it in gear,u have to put ur foot flat to the floor to get it in reverse and force it into gear in any gear,but drives fine when in 4th or 5th once u get it there,anyone help me pelase,as wifes moaning about it already,also rear wiper works but no water coems out and temp gauge on dash doesnt move off bottom

hi mate clutch im thinking? i had the same problem

imsure other people will help ARC :)

im not very good with that kinda stuff

as in clutch gone or clutch cable? hopefully caBLE easier to fix and cheaper as i just sheeled out to buy the car

i would say the clutch cable is in need of adjusting.

looking at the car from the front, the clutch arm sticks out the right hand side of the gearbox. it has a bolt on the end of it that you can wind in or out to set the cable tension. i would advise getting a haynes manual, it explains how to set it up properly in there. some measuring from the steering wheel to clutch pedal etc - everyone should have a haynes. :)

the temp gauge.. check on the left hand side of the engine (timing belt end), on the back of the cylinder head. That sensor is the coolant temperature sensor for the gauge, check the wire is connected to it. Try removing it, and touching it to the cylinder head - the gauge should hit max temperature when you do that.

the rear wiper would be a non-return valve (assume there is water in the tank, tank is in the drivers side inner wing - cap just behind the headlight).

arc said:
i would say the clutch cable is in need of adjusting.