Tuning 165/65/r13 / 175/65/r13?

Currently reading:
Tuning 165/65/r13 / 175/65/r13?

yiorgos

Has anyone tried 165/65/R13 or even 175/65/R13 tyres on cinq sporting?

These days I am doing ~85 miles commuting to work daily on motorways and A roads and the short gearing is a problem. I also have spax springs and shocks and taller tyres would mellow the crashy ride as well as allow the car to travel with less revs on the motorway at the same time.

And then there is the price issue with 165/55/R13 we are all aware of ;-)

Has anyone got any experiences to share?

Simple get 14s

Thanks for the advise , but the 2-£300 for the rims makes this a non-starter.

I would maybe consider it if bigger brakes were on the menu, but his is not the case, and I have previous experiences with cars whose handling was ruined by bigger rims.

I wouldn't bet on 175/65R13.

165/65R13 might go well, though, but that's close to 155/70R13 which eliminates steering feel and gives a wobbly ride. I'm not an expert at all but I have driven 155/70 and got rid in a hurry. That's a personal preference, by all means.

155/65R13 is not bad, though. Sure as heck isn't great, either!

165/55R14 is close to ideal, if 185/50R14 is not an option as this profile is as expensive as it is pretty. :yum:
My Ovation VI-682 165/55R14 setup is proving much better than expected and comfy-ish for a 60/40 drop on Koni Sport shocks.

Fitting taller tires won't bring down the revs - that's a matter of leaving 20min's earlier and going slower! :eek:

My honest advice, not an attempt to be an arse:

Fit stock springs, new shocks or buy a Punto Mk2 which is hugely more comfortable, just as affordable and gets same/better mileage but is absolutely no fun... or live with the compromise that is a lowered cento, heaps of fun, simply built yet full of Italian Spirit (Made in Poland).