Technical 1.3 multijet Doblo 2010

Currently reading:
Technical 1.3 multijet Doblo 2010

peter ling

Hi Everyone I'm new to this forum having now become a fiat owner. I have a fiat Doblo 263 1.3 muti-jet on a 2010 im told its the change over year and mine is the newer version but not sure. I'm not a mechanic but know my way around engines having done all my own mechanics since starting watching my late dad. To cut a long story short my van had an injector seal leak and my stepson offered to replace it for me, however after driving the van to his house it was the last time it would run correctly. We towed it home and done compression test and found no compression on one of the cylinders he done the injectors o. I think he must have been messy and dropped some carbon into the bore. I stripped the engine down and sure enough one of the valves was bent no damage to the rockers or camshaft. I have just finished de-coking the engine and now ready for assembly but I am confused on how to do valve timing. I purchase a locking tool and done some research online where it says the pistons all have to be mid point in the bore for the bottom end and both pins locked in the cam shaft. Where I am getting a bit lost is that there is obviously a ratio between crank and cam shaft due to the different size sprockets so how do you know when locking the cam you are not 180 degrees out?. I'm used to doing TDC on piston one when I have done cam belt but this is my first chain. I get the locking of the crank can only be in one place but as the cam will turn twice or more for one revolution of the crank I don't understand how I know if its locked in the correct place. Sorry if this is a bit long winded but I want to best describe my problem. Thank you in advance for any guidance you can offer.