Tuning 1.2 sporting topend

Currently reading:
Tuning 1.2 sporting topend

mex87

hi there im new with fiats ive gota 1998 1.2 16v sporting im just wondering if u can change the top or bottem end off another fiat engine (or does a another engine just drop stright in)..my mate (nick) tunes civics this way,were wondering if the same fing can be done with these engines..pls reply if u have any knowledge on this thanks...hayden

1.4 16v bottom end (Grande Punto, Stilo, Idea, New Panda, etc.) should be fittable. They're not cheap though. Will need a remap to take real advantage I'd think.

These get chipped, old school stuff ;)

OP you have a great setup, those old engines have a higher lift inlet camshaft, double valve springs, bigger tb and 86 bhp. Anything after had 80bhp and economoy cams. With no cat and a Marea 1.6 tb these cars are an absolute hoot :D

As for bottom ends any 1.2 16v bottom end will fit. For a while I used a 2001 bottom end with a 1997 cyl head and cams :)

These get chipped, old school stuff ;)

OP you have a great setup, those old engines have a higher lift inlet camshaft, double valve springs, bigger tb and 86 bhp. Anything after had 80bhp and economoy cams. With no cat and a Marea 1.6 tb these cars are an absolute hoot :D

As for bottom ends any 1.2 16v bottom end will fit. For a while I used a 2001 bottom end with a 1997 cyl head and cams :)

What about the 1.2 16v found in the Stilo? It has 85 or something bhp does that mean it has older better setup?

I have a 1.2 16v Stilo and I've just recently fitted a decay manifold with a straight through and it does feel a lot more energetic! Can I fit the mares TB to mine?

Will need a remap on that ECU, methinks.

Allegedly, people have got 110bhp out of the 1.2 16v with mods only to inlet, mani, exhaust and set up. You'll fail the MOT with a decat, though.