Technical No connection to ECU

Currently reading:
Technical No connection to ECU

Eb Wijkstra

Hi,

I am a newbie at this forum although many years ago got some good advice from the forum.

I have a Fiat Ducato Multijet Maxi built up as an Eura mobile Terrestra 690, built in 2012. We bought the unit in Germany in 2012 and after a 5-month stint in Europe, shipped the unit to New Zealand, where we picked up the camper first week of Jan 2013.

Although we had quite some trouble with the engine. First we encountered a malfunctioning booster solenoid in 2014, replaced it. After about 40.000km according to the Fiat dealer in Dunedin, it developed a malfunction of the turbo charger. Exchanged it for a new one. Still the yellow engine light came on and they came to the conclusion, it was a faulty ECU unit. Replaced the unit, but still no joy. Yellow engine light was still on. The scan showed DPF full 120%. So the DFP was cleaned. Still no joy. The end conclusion was: Must be a faulty sensor. Replaced the sensor and bingo, problems gone.
Once more a red light warning. Something to do with the airbags, hence another diagnosis and conclusion: faulty/corroded sensor. New one and since then no more problems re engine lights etc.
I was told the service check could not be updated, because the vehicle was to old (less the 10 years old), which to me was just a fob-off excuse and did not believe them
So I decided myself to plug in the Multiecuscan software. Whatever I try, with 3 different ELM327 interfaces, connection failed to ECU. The ELM327 is the correct one and not a Chinese clone. Now I understood why they could not update the maintenance info. Although nobody else ever connected anything to the engine's ECU, I am convinced somebody at the service station caused this problem. This of course is denied in all its glory.

My question to this forum is: Does anybody know why I cannot connect to the ECU or any advice what to do next please.

Fiat Ducato
MultiJet Maxi