General Veg oil in my Ducato Diesel

Currently reading:
General Veg oil in my Ducato Diesel

m4mike

Hi Everyone,
I have a 2000 2.8 Diesel Ducato 2.8iDTT Swift kon Tiki and was wondering if anyone know if I can use veg/sunflower oil in it mixed with Diesel?

I have been doing this for many years on other diesels, my 98 Shogun, and an old L reg 2.5 turbo diesel Ducato with no problems.
Cheers
Mike

Its still a bosch ve pump but the engine is direct injected so you'd probably wouldn't want to run too high a ratio of veg oil to diesel. Hardly worth it with the price of veg oil now unless you're getting it for free.

Veg oils works out £1.00 per litre from Tesco's compared with around £1.37 or so for diesel, quite a saving on a full tank.
cheers

Veg oils works out £1.00 per litre from Tesco's compared with around £1.37 or so for diesel, quite a saving on a full tank.
cheers

At a 50/50 mix what's that, £10 a tank assuming its about an 80L tank.

Question is how much will the potential issues caused going to cost to resolve :confused:

Personally I'd just stick to using proper chemically cut bio diesel :)

I can only speak for my Shogun and my old 94 2.5 Turbo Ducato Motorhome, I've never had any problems at all apart from starting on a cold morning, then I either reduce the amount of veg oil or when it's really cold just use diesel.
The fuel economy is the same, never had to replace any fuel pump seals and it fly's through the emission on the MOT, just wondered if the newer Ducato would be the same, guess I'll just have to try it!
Cheers

I can only speak for my Shogun and my old 94 2.5 Turbo Ducato Motorhome, I've never had any problems at all apart from starting on a cold morning, then I either reduce the amount of veg oil or when it's really cold just use diesel.
The fuel economy is the same, never had to replace any fuel pump seals and it fly's through the emission on the MOT, just wondered if the newer Ducato would be the same, guess I'll just have to try it!