General Too many problems with my Punto - heating, brake too hard, heater blows cold air

Currently reading:
General Too many problems with my Punto - heating, brake too hard, heater blows cold air

Bees

Hey ppl
I am a newbie and know very little about cars..
I purchased my punto (M reg - about 96,000 miles) 1 and half year back..I dont use the car often But since the past 6 months every time i get it out it keeps giving me problems..sometimes i wonder the mechanic is doggy ..and keeps messing with my car.
Anyway..following are the problems currently..
My car started getting heating problems when our carbonator knob broke suddenly. So i got this knob fixed which didnt cost much..but heating problem started then. Within 5 min driving car gets heated up however I got it fixed in Nov when I serviced my car. After servicing the car the heating arrow somehow still continued to be always on higher end so we asked the mechanic and he said nothing to. worry... But few days back..we drove the car for like 20 min and the car heated up and smoke started coming out. The car did not start then and we got RAC to get it home. However the next day the car started..but we have not driven since as the brake has gone way to hard to drive :confused: and when we start the engine there is some wierd noise . To add to our misery our heater blows cold Air now:worship:.:bang:

We are getting 2 mechanic to give us the cost of fixing these problems..however can't really trust them. Could someone please help as so how much would it be to fix all these or is it even worth fixing it....or just scrap the car...

Appreciate any help....

Hi mate, and WELCOME TO THE FORUM!!

By the sounds of it, your head gasket has gone, and caused the car to overheat. Did you check your coolant levels regularly? I wouldn't drive the car until this is fixed or more damage may be caused. For a back street garage to fit a new head gasket your looking at about £150-£200.