Technical stilo workshop information

Currently reading:
Technical stilo workshop information

slartybartfast

Hi everyone, i am a newbie on here and would like your help if possible.
I have a jtd which so far has been a cracking car with only a few problems. until recently and i am having problems with fault lights on the dash. we have already had the airbag failure problem fixed, within weeks of buying the car 2 years ago, (that was very long winded and involved several trips to fiat, a new loom and much inconvenience)

anyway, this started as a bulb failure warning, it appeared to be sidelights that had failed. it has now progressed to engine fault, alternator failure,power steering failure, loose connection and occasionally all the warning lights coming on and the tacho stopping working.

i have had a quick look, going to have a proper go tomorrow, but the sidelights have not blown, when the sidelights are switched on the offside are fine, but he left hand side ones have a very dim glow, this leads me to think that this may be a dodgy earth on that headlamp unit, i have already checked the earth connections on the battery and from the battery to the body of the car and to then engine, i have also had a meter on to check resistance from the battery earth to th body of the car and also the engine.

i would have took the light unit out but wasnt sure how to, until a few minutes ago when i searched this forum :)

a few months back we had a new front wing on the nearside due to a bit of careless parking.

has anyone else had any experience of similar problems, and do you think i am on the right track with the earthing theory ?

any help or comments would be greatly appreciated.

also i have managed to get hold of a manual type thing on cd. which is published by satiz of italy. in this program there is a diagnostic section with an item described as examiner. the program refers to using this to interface with the diagnostic port on the car.