Technical Stilo Advice for a newbie

Currently reading:
Technical Stilo Advice for a newbie

MrJaffaMan

Hi All, apoligise if this is in wrong place but I need advice on a potential purchase via ebay,

Been wanting to get a Stilo 3dr for a while but last time I had the money ended up with a Mondeo (n), now I found a Stilo on Ebay and the guy wants to straight swap cars as Im looking to downsize but the car has a few issues though it drove ok when I had a look at it yesterday.

Ebay Item Number : 190514862978

I would appreciate some soundish advice from present Stilo owners.

thanks in advance

Im no expert but I have a 1.6 and we also have two 1.8s. My biggest worry would be the gearbox on a car with that mileage. I had to replace mine last year and it only had 75k on the clock, cost me just under £900. I would suggest paying very close attention to the gearbox when you test drive, its a common issue on the 1.6, I just didnt know until after I bought mine. I would say that £1200 is reasonable as long as the gearbox is ok.

Last edited:
Hi All, apoligise if this is in wrong place but I need advice on a potential purchase via ebay,

Been wanting to get a Stilo 3dr for a while but last time I had the money ended up with a Mondeo (n), now I found a Stilo on Ebay and the guy wants to straight swap cars as Im looking to downsize but the car has a few issues though it drove ok when I had a look at it yesterday.
Ebay Item Number : 190514862978

I would appreciate some soundish advice from present Stilo owners.

thanks in advance

Any 'issues' in my mind will need more close attention than 1 test-drive. Though the faults or mentioned, there could be a fault that shows itself after a longer journey and the owner is keeping it quiet. Buying privately can be difficult sometimes as people aren't always honest - have you done a history check etc and actually seen all the relevant paper work / service history etc?