Technical speedo problem

Currently reading:
Technical speedo problem

babybee

the speedo stopped working on the barch. It was suggested that it was the sender unit so a unit was bought - no change. after close investigation it turns out the pinion? in the gear box is broken. replacement gearbox or rebuild? is there any advice about the merits of either option and what if I continue to drive it without doing anything? and why would the pinion or whatever break in the first place?

I cant comment on the repair BB as I'm new to the Barchetta myself. I would obviously try to have it fixed but continue to drive it in the meantime. The speedometer isnt part of the MOT so nobody would know. You could use the rev counter to judge your speed and someone on here will have the same tyres/wheels to give you the approx revs in certain gears. TBH, I dont think my speedo is all that accurate anyway.

Steve

Did the mechanic not say if the pinion can be changed without stripping the gearbox down?

Looking at the parts cd, it's only about £15 for the part.

Bumble - according to sat-nav, my Barchetta speedo is 2mph out from zero all the way up to .... er .... motorway speeds.

Hi all thanks for the comments - the mechanic said that the speedo drive inside the gear box seems to have broken away so the sender is not being driven round. Apparently the offending part is plastic and so will probably do no harm to the rest of the box. and I don't think the part can be changed without invasive surgery. If needed speeds can be got from the satnav.

if you have ABS then you could consider using one of the ABS sensor signals as a source of speed information. This is perfectly possible but would require a little bit of electronics to sense, amplify and calibrate to road speed.

The ABS system knows exactly how fast the car is travelling as a matter of design function. The Fiat Examiner dignostic tool can read/display true road speed from the ABS sensors.