General Spare Tyre

Currently reading:
General Spare Tyre

Tweedbean

Va Va Vroom
Whats the law on a spare tyre, as I am currently driving with my space saver tyre and 3 alloys. But the space saver is limited to 50mph. Can I drive around fine (under 50mph) until I get a new set of alloys?

If i put a normal steelie wheel on with a normal tyre, could I class this as my spare and therefore be able to drive at 70mph until I get a new set?

Is the car limited to 50mph when using any spare?

:rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes: i did 90 with a space saver.i know its wrong but it didnt fall off...and corners at 60 are fun:D :D with abit of drifting.but dont take my word for it.im a bad driver:devil: just do 50mph(y)

Ive taken the space saver off, Currently ogt a punto steelie, so can I do 70 on the motorway as its a normal tyre, now classing that as a spare

:rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes: i did 90 with a space saver.i know its wrong but it didnt fall off...and corners at 60 are fun:D :D with abit of drifting.but dont take my word for it.im a bad driver:devil: just do 50mph(y)

Im glad you said it :)

Space savers are not only thin (lack of grip). They can also heat up faster, the rubber is not designed for long life, (low speed rating) and will affect the associated axels offset. Often they are a different rolling radius as well!

All these make handling and reliability a bit pants tbh.

If you ARE going do do a lot of miles on it, put it on the back axle, but a blow out is not a nice thing to happen, and is not predictable like loss of friction.

You are on 14"s? Is the space saver a 14 as well?

Kristian

Im not using the space saver, im using a normal steel wheel and tyre, off a punto. its 14" like my alloys

also had the space saver over 100mph wouldnt recomend it though lol ..... being a multi directional tyre dont help either ...

on another thought get 2 over inflate them put them on the front and spin awat well good fun