Technical Sei - Adjust wiper speed

Currently reading:
Technical Sei - Adjust wiper speed

cojones

New member
Joined
Jul 5, 2007
Messages
295
Location
Oxfordshire
I find the "slow" speed of the wipers to be way too fast - with a gentle rain it's a pain in the arse. What I mean is that they wipe way too frequently

Is there any way of modifying this? I'd like to modify this to say 1 wipe every 5 seconds.

I'd like to do something similar for the rear wiper as well.
 

AppleSei

RIP L181 VBB
Joined
Feb 20, 2005
Messages
16,628
Location
West Yorks
No not really, let more rain land on the windows and just press one click rather than have it on a setting
 

soopahfly

New member
Joined
Jan 28, 2007
Messages
258
Location
Leeds/Sheffield
I've not tried this myself on the Cento yet, but with the astra I swapped the wiper relay for a VW programmable one. Straight swap.

Flick the wiper on, then leave it off for the desired length then flick it on again and it has that delay.
 

soopahfly

New member
Joined
Jan 28, 2007
Messages
258
Location
Leeds/Sheffield
Not sure on the fiat, and normal relays are aren't programmable. Its just a series of switches.
A relay should be about £15. Not a big deal to waste if it doesn't fit. You can always extend the normal relay wires to the new relay.
Something I've been thinking about as the 2 speed wipers annoy me.
 

Liam

hi friends :waves:
Joined
Mar 12, 2003
Messages
14,118
Location
Scotland
Get the windscreen clean as poss and polish it or rain-x it so the water repels, that's what I done most of the time and done the intermittent or one click.

Liam
 

Asteris

Active member
Joined
Mar 20, 2002
Messages
466
Location
Thessaloniki
I believe the MPI model has 3 speeds on the stalk, someone to confirm?

If yes, we can maybe replace the stalk and the relay?
 

AppleSei

RIP L181 VBB
Joined
Feb 20, 2005
Messages
16,628
Location
West Yorks
Fook me how did i miss that :eek:

I believe it has 3 speeds from memory, wheres kritip or ronnie or any other MPI flag flyers when you need them
 
Joined
Feb 3, 2006
Messages
2,660
Location
Nottingham
I believe the MPI model has 3 speeds on the stalk, someone to confirm?

If yes, we can maybe replace the stalk and the relay?

Inter, on, fast.
No relay used.
There is an electronic control device on the motor, so you need the motor and then you may not have all the wiring from the motor to the stalk
 
Last edited:
Top