General Rust in bottom of doors

Currently reading:
General Rust in bottom of doors

I am putting my 84 Uno back on the road. It is fine but has some rust in the RF and RR door. From the outside the rust does not appear to go any further up than the first crease which is approx 25 mm up from the bottom edge. I am thinking of getting a very small skin bent up and slipping it up underneath, tacking it along the edge of the crease then sealing it with a rubberised spray on product on the inside of the door. Any comments anyone. I have never done panel repairs before.

Personally for the price of a new door, and the work involved in welding, filling and spraying the damaged ones you have, I'd go for new doors.

Incidentally the corrosion is caused by the outside window seal on the window shrinking, which leaves a gap at the front (near the mirror), or rear near the pillar. Water drips down from the window, and leaves the inside of the door wet, which then eventually rots the door from the inside.

New rubber seals, leaving no gaps will prevent the problem from occuring in the first place.:)

you will be better finding new doors mate!
i bought i uno around a month ago and the o/s rear door had been repaired and now its falling to bits from the inside out.

sy

Best way to fix it is to do what I always do. Bog it!!! When done with care this provides a perfectly good solution. Just use rust converting stuff (if you can make up a small trough to put it in thats better) It takes awhile to get rid of all the rust.

Once you have removed almost all of the rust, dry it carefully, then paint it with etch primer. This is a really good primer for preparing surfaces.

I also often use that rust converting paint on the inside of the door.

Now just fill and paint.

To help the repair last you should now fill the inside of the door with waterproof wax.