Technical RPM counter

Currently reading:
Technical RPM counter

This is not your typical RPM counter question. I'm studying electronics here and i'd love to make a digital rpm counter, but i need some more tech details on the seicento ecu.

I understood that there's some sort of rpm information on pin 23 of the ecu (violet/black wire?). As far as i understood, it gives one +5v pulse for every rotation. Am i right?

If the above is right, the best resolution i'll have is 60 rpm (if i detect 1 pulse in 1 second, that means it's going at 60rpm, 2 pulses in 1 second would be 120 rpm and so on... not very precise). I was thinking of an another way to solve that...

I'm pretty sure that seicento has a crankshaft rotation sensor. And it should have a lot of "teeth", so i could get much higher precision with that (also, shorter sample/update times). What pin does this sensor connect to, and what is its output voltage? How many teeth are there on the crankshaft? (i know there are usually missing teeth, but there aren't enough to make my rpm counts too inaccurate).

If you have any information that could help me, please share it with me, and i'll share the final schematics / MCU software used with you guys :)

I'm planning to use an Atmel 89S8253 microcontroller and four 7-segment displays for the rpm.

hmm, you're right this isn't what i expected it to be!

You'd think it'd pulse once for every rotation, but it doesn't. It pulses once for every 2 rotations. (hence why in the FAQs about fitting after market rev counters, it says about using ones intended for 2 pot engines else it'll only read half).

The crankshaft sensor is a VR sensor. I don't know the voltage it produces. The crank wheel has 58 teeth, and a 2 teeth gap. It's a standard Bosch 60:2 wheel.

Code:
11 	Input 		TDC / RPM Sensor Signal Negative
28 	Input 		TDC / RPM Sensor Signal Positive

they are the pins used on the Cinquecento. The SPI (mk1) Seicento should be the same, i don't know about the MPI.