General resetting the ECU?

Joined
Oct 13, 2006
Messages
10,258
Location
Glasgow
hi there,

Is there anyway i can reset my ecu ??

Does pulling the two battery cables out work???

Or that's just bull **** :p?

thanks in advance

bye for now
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 20, 2006
Messages
27,743
Location
Liverpool
That'll work. Opinions differ on how long you need to disconnect for. Overnight should well do it, but I can't see why more than an hour is needed.

Why you want to reset?
 
OP
OP
Y
Joined
Oct 13, 2006
Messages
10,258
Location
Glasgow
the engine management came on, so lambda sensor is change ^^.

I suspect is the lambda sensor due to the fact that the light only comes on when the engine is hot and stays off with a cold engine.

Just so the ECU will stop thinkikng some sort of sensor is at fault.

And after i put the lambda sensor, yet the engine light came on again ~~~~~

I really hope by resetting the ECU will fix this :). well i guess i will leave it over light
 
OP
OP
Y
Joined
Oct 13, 2006
Messages
10,258
Location
Glasgow
that shouldn't be problem, when i was replacing it, i took the whole wire out connecting from the ecu onwards. .. i am just afraid that it could be some other sensor that causes the engine light to come on ....

i think when that comes i might have to get my ecu read again .... tomorrow i'll clean the throttle body hope that will help ...

thanks for the help :)
 

Liam

hi friends :waves:
Joined
Mar 12, 2003
Messages
14,118
Location
Scotland
Search for haynes ecu reset and you'll find the proper procedure.

Liam
 
OP
OP
Y
Joined
Oct 13, 2006
Messages
10,258
Location
Glasgow
hi there i have with those keywords , but i can't seem to find anything.

can you post a link please??

thanks again
 

SkinzCinqSporting

MG ZR Owner :)
Joined
Feb 11, 2006
Messages
6,866
Well put it this way, i took the ECU out and it reset itself, and better than having to reprogramme your radio presets and clock :)
 
OP
OP
Y
Joined
Oct 13, 2006
Messages
10,258
Location
Glasgow
i see i see , well i guess pulling the battery out also works..

ok i resetted the ecu, and now the car seems to misfiring constantly ~~~~~~

any hlep on that ?? Is this because the ECU has been resetting and has to learning about the fuelling again ??
 

frenchwood

New member
Joined
Aug 31, 2006
Messages
389
Location
Nottingham
The ECU in Centos is a "Learning" ECU.

After you reset it (mine resets after a brief disconnection) it needs to "Re-Learn" the engine.

IMHO it usually takes about 300 miles to relearn, and during this time will drink petrol and run like a bag of ferrets arguing over a dog bone.

I tend to find after a reset that i can expect poor performance for around 3-4 days, after this it should be running "Normal"...

Hope this helps!

(y)
 
Top