Grande Punto Puzzled newbie looking for advice on possibly electrics! But don’t know!

Currently reading:
Grande Punto Puzzled newbie looking for advice on possibly electrics! But don’t know!

Fedupfiatgirl

Hi, I’m new and it’s a long first post, but I’ll try and keep it concise. Complete novice so excuse my terminology and ignorance and if you’re kind enough to respond with help, i’ll really need it in laymen terms! And I don’t know if separate issues or which might be connected, so I’m throwing it all out there, sorry!

2007 grande punto 1.9 td

Car had sub woofer installed direct to fuse box. This was then removed but I don’t think by disconnecting at fuse box.
Heater hasn’t worked fully since. On a 4 setting selector it will only work on 4 (full) and completely dead on 1, 2 and 3. Garage tried a new unit but it still didn’t work.

For the last 5 years problems have escalated.

EC showing fault - it’s had a terra clean and the valve “blown” cleaned out. These got the car through 2 MOT’s but then it immediately reverts.

Car will not start first time, will turn over for 30 secs or so then just shut off and has white fumes billowing from exhaust. 2 or 3 attempts and she fires up fine. In last 8 months she really doesn’t like Short town journeys. If stoped before engine reaches temp she just will not start again for up to half an hour. The temp gauge flies up to max when you try and turn her over. So a short 5 min trip to the shop, becomes a drive around town for 10/15 mins first!

Every warning light remains on. The ASR button will not turn off. The LED display has only been backlit now for 3 or 4 years. Only occasionally the screen will throw out random rubbish and stop again, when this happens I know there will be starting issues. It never happens while driving. The headlights won’t turn off now at switch (8 months), but do when ignition off and full beam still works ok.