Punto MK2 b Front speakers.

Currently reading:
Punto MK2 b Front speakers.

johnster

Hi,

I have some Clif Designs component speakers i tried to put in my Punto but lo and behold, there is no space whatsoever as the magnet gets in the way of the electric window!!

Does anyone know if there is some kind of spacer i could fit to allow the speaker room? Failing this it looks like i will have to buy some speakers that actually fit. Can anyone suggest some decent speakers that do actually fit in the doors? (Price range max of £200)

Thanks,

John

Well ,to be honest with u i have no experience in this area, actually i'm askin u a question here..
I'm lookin' to change the door speakers just like u did ( & now i'm waiting like u to get info from some one):confused:
so, did u take of the plastic part covering the speaker ? how exactly did u do that? because i'm goin' to that by myself so i need some help here:rolleyes:
thanx

Hi Moe.

Well, i think i slightly overdid it when dismantling... But its V simple. Just a bit tricky unclipping the plastics and trying not to damage them.

All i did was unscrew the screws in the door card, just underneath the speaker (I think there was three of them) then the plastic speaker grille simply prises off with a screw driver (Be carefull not to mark the grille or use ecessive force as the grille is held in place with plastic clips)

For the tweeter, there is a small plastic clip in place underneath the wing mirror ajuster. Carefully clip this out and there is a screw. Just undo this then again, carefully take off the cover and try not to use too much force as this is held together with plastic clips also.

Then, it is just a matter of unscrewing the main speaker and unclipping the tweeter. Job done!

Unfortunatley, the speakers i have have HUUUUUGE (Compared to the original stock speakers) Magnets and just will not fit as they interfere with the electric Window's :-(