General Punto EVO Engine Swapping

Currently reading:
General Punto EVO Engine Swapping

JLCBS

I just bought myself a 2011 Punto EVO 1.2 as my first car and I love it, although it's getting a bit old now and the engine lacks performance. The acceleration is poor.

I want to replace the old engine (75'000+ miles) with a reconditioned one, although I don't want the original 1.2 engine. I want to try and fit the 1.4 M-Air engine used in the EVO Sporting.

Is this even possible? Is it worth it for a performance boost? My thought process is because both my car and the EVO Sporting are similar then the engine bays will be similar which means the engine swap will be relatively straightforward.

I'm new to cars and don't really know how I would go about doing this.

Any tips would be appreciated.

Thanks.

Hi

It IS possible..

But is basically building a second punto

Wiring..dashboard..etc as well as engine and gearbox

Then..its a 'special build' so insurance will be more expensive that just buying a stock A.P.E. or Evo Sporting

Save your money.. then once your no claims has built.. you can buy something more interesting :)

Charlie

Last edited:
Hi,

Some bad news, someone hit my cherished and well looked after white Punto Evo GP whilst it was parked and no idea who did it.

If anyone would like spare parts from it as a lot of it is still in good condition and it would be shame to let it go to the salvage yard.

Let me know :)

Hi,

Some bad news, someone hit my cherished and well looked after white Punto Evo GP whilst it was parked and no idea who did it.

If anyone would like spare parts from it as a lot of it is still in good condition and it would be shame to let it go to the salvage yard.

Let me know :)

Sorry to hear that :(

There should be a fair demand for undamaged parts.. lights and bumper seem hard to obtain

And Sad123 is looking for a gearbox ;)

Charlie

Last edited:
I would be interested in the gearbox if it’s compatible of course?