Proving NCB before new insurance

Currently reading:
Proving NCB before new insurance

Lambie

¯\_(ツ)_/¯
Hello all!

I'm a new driver, and I've had my licence since January this year. Despite bumping and pranging into various stationary objects I've avoided having an accident on my first year, so I've made zero claims so far (touch wood) :slayer:

I've run two insurance quotes, with and without a years NCB, and the price difference is dramatic. Right now my insurance is close to £3k a year. The quote for next year w/o NCB is the same, but with 1yr NCB it's close to 1.5k, which is a dramatic difference. However, before switching to a new provider I won't have technically had a year NCB when I purchase my second year insurance.

Does your insurance provider give you evidence of your NCB before your insurance expires, or should I buy my next year insurance without NCB and then phone them up during the policy to say I've got evidence of a year NCB?

I find this all very confusing, but could absolutely do with the cheaper insurance as I'm also trying to save other things which I can't do while being squeezed by insurance and petrol costs. Thank you!

NCB - it's NOT legally binding,
it's essentially just a scheme to get custom.

you can buy 9 month "bonus-builder" policies when after 9 months..at "renewal" you get a "years NCB".

conventionally a MONTH before expiry you will get a renewal notice, and it SHOULD detail 1 years NCB..,

there are people on here within the UK insurance industry who will know more,

but I have MANY vehicle policies running, so have given you some of my many years of insured experience.

Charlie

NCB - it's NOT legally binding,
it's essentially just a scheme to get custom.

you can buy 9 month "bonus-builder" policies when after 9 months..at "renewal" you get a "years NCB".

conventionally a MONTH before expiry you will get a renewal notice, and it SHOULD detail 1 years NCB..,