500 Potential owner

Currently reading:
500 Potential owner

Hi,

I'm shortly looking to create a 500c Abarth and this forum looks like it's full of interesting technical info, so thought I might as well join up...

I'll be asking some daft newbie questions on the 500 / Abarth forums no doubt, in my quest to discover whether turning a 1.2 or 1.4 500c into an Abarth is a viable option before I spend any serious cash.

I've got quite a few years experience tinkering with classics (including Alfas, for my sins), sticking old, rusty thingies back together and building Subaru frankencars; my latest project involved taking bits of 4 different Subarus from 3 different continents, persuading the electronics to communicate and turning a fairly mundane 140bhp wagon into a 350+ bhp monster. But since I only wanted an extra 20bhp to make overtaking a little easier before the modding bug well and truly bit, it's ended up a little too frisky / thirsty for everyday use, so I'm now planning something slightly less ridiculous :D

Hello and welcome to the forum.

...my quest to discover whether turning a 1.2 or 1.4 500c into an Abarth is a viable option

This kind of conversion would require so many components to be changed that it would be far cheaper just to buy an Abarth 500C in the first place.

I've got quite a few years experience tinkering with classics

You're not in Kansas anymore. On a modern canbus car like the 500, almost nothing is plug 'n play; you can't just swap parts from a different version and expect them to work.

Last edited: