Police - New Driver Scheme - Opinions Needed

Currently reading:
Police - New Driver Scheme - Opinions Needed

blebo

I apologise for the length of this post but I really need to hear other people’s views on this subject as it is something I am seriously thinking about proposing to the senior management at my work.

As you know I am a Police Officer and I am serious about increasing driver ability and reducing road deaths and injuries.

I am basing what I am proposing on how I used to feel when I was a young driver and what I know now that I am a Police officer.

Q1. How to you feel when you hear about schemes launched by the government to re habilitate criminals? The one that sticks in my mind was several years ago a bunch of TWOCers were given cash to set up and run a racing team, whilst honest, law abiding me could barley afforded to run my “get to work” car and racing was something I dreamt of at night

Q2 what is the general opinion amongst the masses in relation to the standard of Police Drivers. I am not talking about years ago as the training has changed in the last five or so a year which means that all Officers are trained to advanced level to be a response driver (lights and sirens). `How would young driver feels about being given the change to learn advanced driving skills by a trained police driver. I.e. advanced corning, observation overtaking etc.

Q3 what is the general view of the IAM (institute of advanced motorists). Is this still viewed as old folk with flat caps and driving gloves?

Q4. As a young car enthusiast what is more important, the way your car looks or driving fast?

Q5 Do you drivers feel that the majority are being let down by the minority. I.e. one or two bad “Boy Racers” are resulting in all young drivers being classed as hooligans. If so if there was a way for you to prove that you were a better driver would you do it?

Q6 (The proposal)