Technical Parking Sensor Fuse Blowing

Currently reading:
Technical Parking Sensor Fuse Blowing

Heccie

I've got a 2018 Doblo Maxi Pro 105. I recently took it in for its first MOT, which it passed fine, however on the way home I noticed a yellow warning triangle up on the dash. When I investigated it I found it also came up with a message "Parking Assist Unavailable". I could not confirm if the message was there when
I immediately started the van after the MOT was complete, so cannot throw it back at the garage and tell them to sort it out. I phoned them up and asked nicely if they could have done anything during the test that might have caused this problem. They denied that they had. Naturally.

I eventuall tracked down Fuse 49 (5 Amp micro fuse), under the dash, to have blown. Being an electrician by trade I have checked all wiring around the sensors and I found the parking control unit hidden behind the panel in the offside wall of the rear compartment, above the wheel arch. There is no sign of any damage anywhere that could have caused a fuse to blow. I replaced the fuse and it fixed the fault for a short while, but blew again as I stopped at a set of lights and applied the handbrake. I put in a slightly larger fuse (7.5A) to see if that helped. It lasted longer but still blew after a couple of hours.

I found a link to an online list of all the different fuses in the vehicle and it list F49 as supplying the following: Int. power for control panel lights, parking control unit, tyre pressure detector control unit, electric door mirror motor, rain sensor, electric top control unit, My-port infotainment socket. The van doesn't have most of those items, but the electric door mirrors still work with the fuse blown!!! so they are fed from elsewhere.