Technical new owner 1971 500L Acceleration Problems

Currently reading:
Technical new owner 1971 500L Acceleration Problems

srenton

Hello All..
Im new to this having just bought a 1971 500L and could do with some help...
although difficult to start ( seems like the choke isn't doing a lot ) My car idles fine however when I drive and accelerate it splutters and stutters and generally isn't smooth at all. I know there could be many reasons but some pointers would be great.
Im imagining carb / jets need cleaning or fuel pump / line ( she's had new filters leads etc etc)
thanks in advance

First question---where about in the UK are you? If we know that, it might be possible to put you in contact with an experienced 500 owner.
All I can suggest initially are the basics. Remove the carb and get it ultrasonically cleaned, and whilst the carb is off, check that both surfaces of the bakalite spacer is flat as well as the base of the carb. Check the tappet clearances (cold)--the 500 is infamous for them closing up. If you still have points ignition, fit a high quality condenser (from Swiftune). You do not have a 'choke' on the 500 carb--it is a "fuel enrichment device"---there is no 2nd butterfly. Check that fuel lines are clear and that all the filters in the system are clear, especially if the car has been standing for some time with modern fuel in it. There is NO need to fit additional fuel filters--the standard system has 3 from factory (tank unit, top of fuel-pump and carb). Check the timing--if you still have points ignition this can be done 'statically' with a test lamp--10deg (13mm) btdc.
This is difficult question to give a precise answer to, but the above should help you eliminate basic faults.