Technical New marea owner in need of advice

Currently reading:
Technical New marea owner in need of advice

wheeler920

Hi,
I'm a newbie to the fiat world, I've recently purchased a 2.0 20v marea and its done 72000 miles which bring me to my first question, not sure if cambelt has been replaced i've heard it costs about £400 :eek:. Thats what I paid for the car so do I risk it :idea: or get it done? And has anybody taken there's past 72000 without replacing it, if so what mileage to?

With the cambelt issue aside what are the best performance mods to do per £ ? Air filter and exhaust? Dont want to spend too much, i'm thinking about a good service then K&N 57i kit and back box, anybody got feedback on these mods done personally?

I think performance wise these cars are pretty good (y)(y) for a family saloon but the suspension feels a bit wobbly through the corners with quite a lot of body roll, is this how they are set up or could mine be overworn?
Apart from engine i'm thinking about stiffer springs and dampers, anybody got any suggestions?

Thats about it (for now :D:D) so if anybody can help on any of the above or if you have any other suggestions it will be much appreciated.

Thanks guys.

With regards the timing belt if it goes your car will effectively be scrap.
I've heard of them going past 72K but have also heard of plenty not even making it that far.

Witht the induction kit. Many of us just build our own. The sizes of the needed parts are somewhere in the forum if you do a search for induction kit. A decent cat back exhaust should free off a couple BHP but on this engine you do it more for the sound it makes. :devil:

Suspension is improved quite a bit with lowering springs though if your Marea feels wobbly I'd suggest getting it looked at. Suspension components tend to wear out reasonable quickly on the 20V and this can result in the car not hold a straight line properly.

Hi,