Technical Need a gearbox

Currently reading:
Technical Need a gearbox

Sad123

Hi guys,

I have a 1.2 Punto 2013.

Unfortunately the gearbox is on the way out and needs replacing.

I was wondering is there any guidance as to what other cars/models use the same gearbox which would be compatible with my car.

Any help would be appreciated!

I had a go at finding the part number and came up with 55247476 which only seems to be used by the Punto 2013+. Don't take my word for it. I'm no expert on Fiat gearboxes!

Perhaps a bad idea: would the earlier (pre 2013) gearboxes still fit?

I don't think pre 2013 gearbox would be any better. These fire engine gearboxes have been well known for being weak for many years, I had a 2000 Bravo 1.2 16v & the gearbox went on it at 15 years old as it made a horrible metal on metal noise and then spewed all the gearbox oil everywhere, upon closer inspection the diff had shattered & blew a hole in the gearbox with the diff cogs hanging out it, amazingly though it still drove right to the very end until we scrapped it 3 weeks later, probably the best place for it as it was a right old pig cosmetically & needed lots for the MOT. We looked on the forum at the time & found out that once you change the gearbox you'll be forever changing them

So I managed to work out the gearbox code (55241434). Ford KA seems to use the same one as well, but hard to find that particular one.

I wonder if any of the other gearboxes will work…?

I mean it would be a shame to scrap it because it’s only done 48,000 miles and is in pretty good condition.

I think it’s best to call up Fiat and see what gearbox they suggest perhaps?

So I managed to work out the gearbox code (55241434). Ford KA seems to use the same one as well, but hard to find that particular one.

I wonder if any of the other gearboxes will work…?

I mean it would be a shame to scrap it because it’s only done 48,000 miles and is in pretty good condition.