Technical Mystery red light on dash

Currently reading:
Technical Mystery red light on dash

Brim987

Active member
Joined
Feb 28, 2020
Messages
132
Location
Northaampton
Hi All,

Well I'm still trying to keep my boy's 1999 1.6sx Marea alive (he loves it).

I'm getting an intermittent red light on the dash which kinda looks like a spark plug ..maybe... The car feels like it's running on 3 cylinders when it's on.

Any ideas what it is?, I'll plug my code reader in when I get a chance - but two problems with that, the light is very intermittent and the codes are often manufacturer specific with many different interpretations online (as I found with the Brava.)

Thanks for any ideas.
Steve
P.S
The orange key code light only comes on when I insert the key and start too fast, if I insert the key and wait a second it doesn't come on so I'm not too concerned about that.
 

Attachments

  • IMG20210311145944_00.jpg
    IMG20210311145944_00.jpg
    466 KB · Views: 164
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 2, 2006
Messages
3,891
Location
highlands
Hi All,

Well I'm still trying to keep my boy's 1999 1.6sx Marea alive (he loves it).

I'm getting an intermittent red light on the dash which kinda looks like a spark plug ..maybe... The car feels like it's running on 3 cylinders when it's on.

Any ideas what it is?, I'll plug my code reader in when I get a chance - but two problems with that, the light is very intermittent and the codes are often manufacturer specific with many different interpretations online (as I found with the Brava.)

Thanks for any ideas.


Steve
P.S
The orange key code light only comes on when I insert the key and start too fast, if I insert the key and wait a second it doesn't come on so I'm not too concerned about that.

Looks like an injector. The key is the immobiliser, you have to wait until your key code is recognised.
 
OP
OP
Brim987

Brim987

Active member
Joined
Feb 28, 2020
Messages
132
Location
Northaampton
RE: Looks like an injector

Thanks for the reply, sounds like grief... how bad is it?
Might some redex help?

(I will try to get codes later, hopefully it'll still find something even if the light is off.)

Steve
P.S
The car runs fine with the orange key code light on, so the immobiliser.. doesn't.
:)
 

g8rpi

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Nov 11, 2013
Messages
4,537
Location
Cambridge
RE: Looks like an injector

Thanks for the reply, sounds like grief... how bad is it?
Might some redex help?

(I will try to get codes later, hopefully it'll still find something even if the light is off.)

Steve
P.S
The car runs fine with the orange key code light on, so the immobiliser.. doesn't.
:)

Redex might help, maybe not.
Does the car have a 16 pin pin diagnostic socket? I'm gussing it does if you have a generic reader. This indicates it's a later build standard, the 99 1.6 has the 3 pin.connector. In any case it would be wort geting Multiecuscan www,multiecuscan.net and ELM interface. Thi. will give you much more than fault codes. If you have a 3 pin adaptor you will not get so uch information.

The injector symbol indcates a ECU system fault not specifically an injector failure (though it could be).


First things I'd look at are electrical connections on injectors, sensors and ECU. Just unplug, inspect for corrosion or damage, give a spray with a small amount of contact cleaner if you have some (Halfords sell it, WD40 can be used at a pinch but is not ideal. Don't use anything with silicone in it) and plug back in making sure the locking engages.

Robert G8RPI.
 
OP
OP
Brim987

Brim987

Active member
Joined
Feb 28, 2020
Messages
132
Location
Northaampton
I'm not sure what the socket is yet, I bought the reader for our 2000 Brava, but thanks for the suggestions, I'll have a look later.

Trouble is I'm no mechanic, I was seriously impressed when I put a parcel shelf in my Capri.

:)

Steve
 

Eklipze3k

No strings on me
Staff member
Joined
Nov 18, 2007
Messages
18,399
Location
Huddersfield
Looks like an injector. The key is the immobiliser, you have to wait until your key code is recognised.

It looks like an injector yes, but is the generic EML (engine management light), and just means that the ECU has detected an issue. A generic code reader will not work as this generation car did not have OBD, but the old 3-pin style diagnostics connection.
MultiECUScan will work, with the appropriate cables

https://www.multiecuscan.net/SupportedVehiclesList.aspx
 
Joined
Aug 2, 2006
Messages
3,891
Location
highlands
It looks like an injector yes, but is the generic EML (engine management light), and just means that the ECU has detected an issue. A generic code reader will not work as this generation car did not have OBD, but the old 3-pin style diagnostics connection.
MultiECUScan will work, with the appropriate cables

https://www.multiecuscan.net/SupportedVehiclesList.aspx

Indeed, the EML light in this case is like a injector, and similarly like the injector light on my Coupe for instance, will pick up an fault not really directly attributed to the injector itself.

I’ve had the odd injector light flash up and have suffered from Coupe paranoia, but landed easy fixes, sometimes doing nothing. The joys of old Fiats.
 

Neverth

Active member
Joined
Jan 18, 2012
Messages
656
Pre obd red injector light is code on engine management.
But if you feel like it is running on 3, it might be it. The 1.6 is known for breaking injectors. They are in front of the engine between the head and intake manifold. Common connector for them is 5-pin towards the thermostat. Measure the resistance and one might be off, they share positive rail.

MultiECUscan can also read that on the free version, you just need OBD KKL cable and 3-pin adaper (I run mine on old XP laptop as never got newer ones to work).

On mine it was on/off 3 cylinder until it completely died and only ran on 3. Pulled the intake off in -15C and took it inside to swap used injector in (too cold so the O-ring did not go in when outside).
 
Last edited:
OP
OP
Brim987

Brim987

Active member
Joined
Feb 28, 2020
Messages
132
Location
Northaampton
>The joys of old Fiats.
Indeed.

I found a steep hill to climb, banged it into third and floored it.
After a few seconds near the red line, it coughed, stuttered, the red light went off and it started pulling properly.

So far, so good, it's running fine, even the lumpy tickover (with no red light) seems sorted. Maybe it just blew out crud on an injector?

As a young lad, I had problems with a two stroke twin motorbike, a sage mechanic said
"Ay, yer just not thrashing it enuff lad. "

The same seems true for Mareas!

Seriously, I do drive it gently out of paranoia of not knowing if the cambelt has ever been done - and at the best part of a grand to do (or so I'm told) , I doubt it will be now.

Anyhow, I digress, at the moment it seems ok. Woo Hoo.

As my son would say - go retro go.
:)

Steve
 
Joined
Apr 27, 2011
Messages
31,239
Location
Near the M4
I'm not sure what the socket is yet, I bought the reader for our 2000 Brava, but thanks for the suggestions, I'll have a look later.

Trouble is I'm no mechanic, I was seriously impressed when I put a parcel shelf in my Capri.

:)

Steve

Hi again

The marea socket will be very similar.. :)

The symbol is just a 'system warning'

Bit like 'Check Engine' message seen on modern cars ;)
 
Joined
Aug 2, 2006
Messages
3,891
Location
highlands
>The joys of old Fiats.
Indeed.

I found a steep hill to climb, banged it into third and floored it.
After a few seconds near the red line, it coughed, stuttered, the red light went off and it started pulling properly.

So far, so good, it's running fine, even the lumpy tickover (with no red light) seems sorted. Maybe it just blew out crud on an injector?

As a young lad, I had problems with a two stroke twin motorbike, a sage mechanic said
"Ay, yer just not thrashing it enuff lad. "



The same seems true for Mareas!

Seriously, I do drive it gently out of paranoia of not knowing if the cambelt has ever been done - and at the best part of a grand to do (or so I'm told) , I doubt it will be now.



Anyhow, I digress, at the moment it seems ok. Woo Hoo.

As my son would say - go retro go.
:)

Steve

Aye! In some ways I’m not surprised at this. Old Fiats seem to be temperamental and at times need to be driven well :) as I’ve said my Coupe can be bit temperamental, but it gets over itself eventually.:devil:
 
Joined
Apr 27, 2011
Messages
31,239
Location
Near the M4
>The paranoia of not knowing if the cambelt has ever been done - and at the best part of a grand to do (or so I'm told) , I doubt it will be now.

WRONG.. ;)

Ok.. back in 2000 a Garage would charge £1k for the belt on a FIVE CYLINDER marea..12 hour job..as it was an 'engine out' job

By 2003..coupe/marea specialists found a dodge.. and price dropped to £700

Last I heard.. it was such common knowledge its now £400

All on a 5 cyl

You have 4 ;)

So probably an hour tops..
Parts is where it could add up..

Belt @£15

Pulleys.. @£40

Waterpump.. ??

A new belt and inspection of the bearings could be the way to go :)
 
Last edited:

puntodeltathema

Active member
Joined
May 19, 2006
Messages
244
Location
Tonbridge, Kent
(A bit slow on the uptake but maybe it is still worth a post...)

A cambelt change on a 1.6 is pretty straightforward, and there's no waterpump to change as it runs on an auxiliary belt. You don't even have an engine mount to get off - though unlike other Fiats you do have a tight, single crankshaft pulley nut at something like 280Nm from memory. And at least two auxiliary belts....but people shouldn't be charging more than 300 pounds or so for a cambelt and tensioner change.

Your rough running is very likely to be an injector - the pre-2001 1.6 Bravo/Brava/Marea engines were known for lunching injectors due to voltage irregularities in the Marelli engine management system. Alas on this "Torque" engine the injectors are buried behind the very long inlet manifold at the front, so it's not as easy as it might be - though enough people have had to do it!

Good luck - and hope your son keeps the Fiat faith!

Nick
('99 Brava 1.6 Automatic, among other things....)
www.auto500.co.uk
 
Joined
Apr 27, 2011
Messages
31,239
Location
Near the M4
Thanks,

Good info for Brim987
I didnt know that engine series..

12valve 1.4 was all I had touched :eek:


That made me think... I ve had a few 1500's.. but no 1.6 ( even my Renault Trafic campervan was a 1400..)

30+ years ago.. when I still had fords we had a Cortina estate (pinto)..and an Escort Ghia (cvh) the only 1.6's of @ 50 cars

To think Ive had more cars under 950cc than that.. weird really.
 
OP
OP
Brim987

Brim987

Active member
Joined
Feb 28, 2020
Messages
132
Location
Northaampton
Nick,

Many thanks for your reply, useful info!

I've started another thread called new fuel issues since it might help others although it's kinda a continuation of this..

Steve
Steve
 
OP
OP
Brim987

Brim987

Active member
Joined
Feb 28, 2020
Messages
132
Location
Northaampton
RE: MultiECUscan can also read that on the free version, you just need OBD KKL cable and 3-pin adaper (I run mine on old XP laptop as never got newer ones to work).

Thanks for the reply, I'm now just trying to diagnose an ABS warning light (Fiat dealer didn't want to know...)

Do you know if I need the paid version for that?, and where might I buy these cables?

The issue only running on XP is worrying too, since I only have a windows 10 laptop...

Trying desperately to save an old Fiat...

Cheers
Steve
 
Top