mk2 front speakers

Currently reading:
mk2 front speakers

naz85

New member
Joined
Nov 18, 2005
Messages
60
Hi, how easy is it to replace the factory fit punto mk2 front speakers? Is it a job i can do myself. ie. jus screw in the new speakers or do i need to seal it or something like that?
Thanks
 

sunny2539

New member
Joined
Nov 30, 2005
Messages
235
Location
London

Attachments

  • DSC00193.JPG
    DSC00193.JPG
    264.1 KB · Views: 25

H2DaE

Resident Hairdresser
Joined
Oct 21, 2005
Messages
4,394
Location
Hampshire/Surrey
To fit any speakers with a large magnet, you need to buy the Autoleads speaker pods.
Fitting new speakers to run off the HU is just a case of disconnecting the old ones and screwing the new ones in (y)
 

gregit

New member
Joined
Nov 24, 2004
Messages
686
Location
Gloucestershire
Diamond Audios fit a treat.... and a snip at £300 a pair !!!

No spacers required.

Just wait until you want to run proper speaker cable to them.

Others will expain the fun involved!!
 

chaos

Ah. Not good...
Joined
Jan 16, 2005
Messages
10,602
gregit said:
Diamond Audios fit a treat.... and a snip at £300 a pair !!!

No spacers required.

Just wait until you want to run proper speaker cable to them.

Others will expain the fun involved!!

What gauge are you running? And what WRMS do the comps take? :D
 

H2DaE

Resident Hairdresser
Joined
Oct 21, 2005
Messages
4,394
Location
Hampshire/Surrey
greg, at the moment i just have the speaker cable running from under the carpet to behind the door card. Looks a bit chavvy when the door is open, but when it's closed the wires tuck up between the door and the dash, completely out of sight (y)
 

gregit

New member
Joined
Nov 24, 2004
Messages
686
Location
Gloucestershire
chaos said:
What gauge are you running? And what WRMS do the comps take? :D

I am just running them off the head unit at the moment with the factory wiring. Not using the crossovers or the tweeters. I kinda lost interest in kitting the car out with ICE. Shame really, cos I went to the effort of running a live from the battery to the boot along with the RCA's from the Head Unit.

Oh, running a Alpine CDA 9812rb so using the HPF and LPF filters on that to sort the speakers.
 

gregit

New member
Joined
Nov 24, 2004
Messages
686
Location
Gloucestershire
H2DaE said:
greg, at the moment i just have the speaker cable running from under the carpet to behind the door card. Looks a bit chavvy when the door is open, but when it's closed the wires tuck up between the door and the dash, completely out of sight (y)

Does the job I guess! Just won't win any prizes for neatness !! lol
 

H2DaE

Resident Hairdresser
Joined
Oct 21, 2005
Messages
4,394
Location
Hampshire/Surrey
Well I'm still considering my options, since it won't be til august. But my most probable one is to get a Mk2 JTD, or a Stilo JTD and get it remapped. Hopefully by then I will be doing more travelling for work so I need the MPG to be high, and I like the look of the bhp and torque figures for the remapped JTD (y) Not sure what it will be like to drive though :chin: whats yours like?
 
OP
OP
N

naz85

New member
Joined
Nov 18, 2005
Messages
60
well i installed my speakers, the problem is that even with 17s they do not fit snugly as i am only able to screw one side in, so im guessing i need an mdf spacer ring... :bang:
 
Top